PDA

View Full Version : Brake rotor material?

Chad Summey
12-27-2010, 04:34 PM
I bought a old FSAE car last year and after redoing several thing got it running this past weekend. My question is it has aluminum brake rotors. How bad is this? I weld and machine for a living and know that aluminum clogs up grinding wheels and they will stop working as good unless you use some kind of cutting oil or coolant. If the rotors are OK do I need to use some special pads? It is only going to be an autocross car and may be some hillclimbs latter on.thanks Chad

Mazur
12-27-2010, 04:45 PM
That is very strange. I would swap them out for steel. Cast iron if it's within your budget.

Chad Summey
12-27-2010, 04:52 PM
I can make them at work no problem. What grade of cast should I use? nodular? And since I am redoing them would you make them two piece or just keep them one. They are flat with no kind of top hat or anything and fixed not floating. Thanks Chad

thewoundedsoldier
12-27-2010, 05:30 PM
How interesting! Do the brakes work well? Have you put them through a good workout, getting them to temp and seeing how they handle abuse?

I'm on the SJSU Hybrid team and we decided early on to go with an aluminum rotor in the rear, and I am back and forth all the time on whether we should try it for the front or not. Wilwood makes the pad compound that lives peacefully with an aluminum rotor.

I've found it very hard so far to find examples of aluminum rotors being used--what actually turned me on to the idea was the sprotor concept.

Are the rotors on your car anodized?

Chad Summey
12-27-2010, 06:16 PM