PDA

View Full Version : Discs for PS-1 caliper

kapps
10-14-2007, 07:00 PM
I'm working on matching up our braking system and have a question. We plan to use Wilwood PS-1 calipers all around and I am having a hard time finding brake discs that will fit. Wilwood says the discs can't be thicker than .20". Most discs I've found are much thicker than that.

It seems like a lot of teams are using custom discs. Are these made in-house or outsourced? This is my first year doing the braking system so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

kapps
10-14-2007, 07:00 PM
I'm working on matching up our braking system and have a question. We plan to use Wilwood PS-1 calipers all around and I am having a hard time finding brake discs that will fit. Wilwood says the discs can't be thicker than .20". Most discs I've found are much thicker than that.

It seems like a lot of teams are using custom discs. Are these made in-house or outsourced? This is my first year doing the braking system so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Conor
10-14-2007, 07:34 PM
Get them water jetted out of steel plate. It's quick, easy, and cheap. It's the best way I know of. Also, you might want to be a little weary of using ps-1's all around. We're using them in the rear, but opted for a larger caliper in the front with a targeted maximum pedal force of roughly 70-80 lbs. Some people will want to argue with me on this, but anything higher will likely induce driver fatigue and the judges will let you know that. Also, don't forget that the largest force produced in any of these cars is usually the front brake torque.

David T.
10-14-2007, 07:49 PM
http://www.hrpworld.com/index.cfm?form_prod_id=255,164,..._1338&action=product (http://www.hrpworld.com/index.cfm?form_prod_id=255,164,49,363_1338&action=product)

thats where we get ours from. We also use PS-1 Calipers

kapps
10-15-2007, 07:23 AM