PDA

View Full Version : Upright Camber Stiffness

Dave K
09-14-2008, 12:13 PM
Design question:

When you guys design your uprights, what is usually your target camber stiffness? Mine so far are looking to be in the neighborhood of +.25 degrees of camber gain under about 1.5g of cornering and .5g of braking. This is all due to FEA results of course...

J.R.
09-14-2008, 12:44 PM
This is my first year, but I was under the assumption that "we want no compliance within the suspension system or its attachment to the sprung mass" CS, Tune to Win, but I haven't done anything with the uprights yet.

Is this "no compliance" actually practical (down to negligible camber changes that won't influence tyre F&M)?

PSUAlum06
09-14-2008, 01:32 PM
on production vehicles, compliance is actually designed into the suspension and used as a tuning knob to adjust ride and handling characteristics. while it may be tempting to do the same with a FSAE suspension, my suggestion would be to keep it simple and design everything to be as rigid as possible.

my other recommendation is that if you have a sponsor with a K&C rig you should see if they're willing to put your car on it.

Dave K
09-14-2008, 01:52 PM
Ah yeah i might have worded that question a bit wrong now that i look at it.. of course it makes sense for them to be as stiff as possible, but i want to keep them lightweight as well.

I should ask what you guys see during your FEA/testing...

RacingManiac
09-14-2008, 02:25 PM
0.25 degree sounds like a lot...for us who usually run less than 4 deg of neg camber thats like 6% camber change on upright deflection alone. On top of everything else that deflects by whatever amount....I am sure you can do better than that without having to add too much weight to it. How much does it weigh now in the model?

flavorPacket
09-14-2008, 03:01 PM
.25 deg/1.5g is a good target for total stiffness (aside from wheels), not upright stiffness. What is your upright weight target?

BillCobb