PDA

View Full Version : drivetrain

sahil
08-06-2008, 08:41 AM
I am a beginner ,and i need to know whether hollow axles can be used and if yes,probably what material should i use.

sahil
08-06-2008, 08:41 AM
I am a beginner ,and i need to know whether hollow axles can be used and if yes,probably what material should i use.

Kirby
08-06-2008, 09:14 AM
I personally have seen it done.

Many materials are possible:
Carbon Fibre (RMIT)
Aluminium (UNSW)
4140 (whole bunch of people)

Materials choice depends on your selection criteria and mechanics analysis of the problem.

With your analysis it should be possible to determine an adequate cross-section for the specifics of the load.

Then you figure out if a hollow section has any benefits.

sahil
08-06-2008, 11:06 AM
@ kirby
can aluminuim be used as a material for axles....has any one done it....please give me any information on this if u have....

exFSAE
08-06-2008, 11:54 AM
Engineers have calculated shear stresses for years, yes. You can do the same!

T*r / J, bro.

Brian Schien
08-06-2008, 02:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by sahil:
@ kirby
can aluminuim be used as a material for axles....has any one done it....please give me any information on this if u have.... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I saw a team do it. The first time they tried to drive the car it was heading up hill when they let the clutch out it started rolling backwards. So my engineering judgment tells me its not a good Idea.

mtg
08-06-2008, 04:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Brian Schien:
I saw a team do it. The first time they tried to drive the car it was heading up hill when they let the clutch out it started rolling backwards. So my engineering judgment tells me its not a good Idea. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>