News
-
Results
-
Links
-
Photos
-
Forums
-
Contact Us

    FSAE.com Forums    FSAE.com Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Open FSAE Discussion    Fundraising
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Member
Picture of Isaac G.
Posted
Hello fellow FSAE members,

My name is Isaac Garfunkel and I am a team member of Drexel Racing and we have just had our first meeting on Wednesday September 24th. As always, we are excited to get underway, yet like most things nothing is possible without money. We receive only so much from the school and we can use more for extras and high cost materials such as carbon fiber and electronic equipment.

There is a free online site that is called www.whatwegive.org that provides each organization with its own homepage and fundraising opportunity. Basically you encourage people to make purchases from a selection of over 1.7 million books, cds, and dvds, using the same supplier as amazon.com, and 25% of each purchase goes directly back to the organization.

Like I said, I encourage you to use it as you have nothing to lose and you can end your program at any time you want. If you are on top of your financial game, great! But if you could use a little extra visit www.whatwegive.org to register or simply find out more information.

If anyone else has any suggestions, please post.

I wish you all luck at competition this year and will keep in contact!

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Isaac G.,





Drexel Racing
 
Posts: 2 | Registered: September 26, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Picture of Wesley
Posted Hide Post
1.7 whole books!?

I assume it's million?


University of Oklahoma
Sooner Racing Team
Cooling Lead '09
Engine Lead '08
sae.ou.edu

"Remember, if you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem"
 
Posts: 360 | Location: OK | Registered: September 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Posted Hide Post
quote:
1.7 whole books!?


It's over 1.7 books.. so it could be as many as 1.9 or even 2 whole books

Maybe I missed the point, but how is this site not a scam? Who is selling what here? And why is this for-profit company just giving away its profits?
 
Posts: 15 | Location: Oxford, OH | Registered: October 04, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Picture of Steve O
Posted Hide Post
I am assuming they are making much more of a profit than you if not % wise than by shear numbers of all of the organizations they serve. You do the leg work and they are "paying you" for that. It's just like any other fundraising company. They make their money through you selling their product.

As far as it being a scam, I doubt it. Like I said this is no different than any other fundraising company out there.
 
Posts: 130 | Location: Hartford,CT | Registered: September 24, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Picture of Isaac G.
Posted Hide Post
1.7 million, yeah, my bad. And yeah, Steve O is correct in saying we make money only through high volume sales. Saying "you do the leg work" is one way of saying it I suppose. The difference with us, however, lies with the fact that it is all online so you don't have to go out of your way to sell to individuals and such. People just buy whatever at whatever time they please. There's no pressure and you are not forced into buying something you don't need like flavored chocolates and plastic Santa Clause decorations. The numbers are like this:

Cost of products: 66.7%
Donation to Fundraiser: 25.0%
WWG year-end contribution to each fundraiser: 1%
Operation expenses, payment processing fee, profit: 7.33%

Total = 100%





Drexel Racing
 
Posts: 2 | Registered: September 26, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

    FSAE.com Forums    FSAE.com Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Open FSAE Discussion    Fundraising

© FSAE.com 2001-2008